History

  • 1872
    The first Sisters of St. Mary arrive in St. Louis from Germany and begin caring for smallpox victims.

  • January 1926
    The first meeting is held regarding the construction of St. Mary’s Community Hospital in Nebraska City. Soon after, a letter of agreement to build the hospital was signed.

  • February 13, 1927
    St. Mary’s opens its doors for the first time, operated by the Sisters of St. Francis, Maryville. The new hospital has 35 beds and is equipped with an X-ray machine and $25,000 worth of medical equipment.

  • October 1937
    A 15-bed, $85,000 addition including a Roman Basilica-style chapel is formally dedicated. Mother M. Augustine and Sister M. Ursula led contract negotiations.

  • October 11, 1942
    The outdoor Grotto of Lourdes is erected and blessed by the Most Reverend Louis B. Kucera.

  • May 15, 1960
    The Most Reverend James Casey dedicates the south wing addition, which includes additional surgical beds, a surgical suite, laboratory, X-ray technology, and obstetrics with a nursery.

  • 1979
    St. Mary’s begins a $1.85 million remodeling project. The project adds a new emergency suite, laboratory, patient rooms, emergency parking stalls, and respiratory and physical therapy areas.

  • October 1, 1983
    The Sisters of St. Francis, Colorado take over responsibility of the hospital from the Sisters of St. Francis, Maryville.

  • 1988
    The Sisters of St. Francis, Colorado transfer the hospital to St. Elizabeth Health Systems.

  • December 1, 1997
    St. Mary’s Community Hospital becomes affiliated with Catholic Health Initiatives.

  • 2001
    St. Mary’s begins a $2.4 million renovation project to adapt to an increased demand for outpatient services.

  • 2004
    The hospital renovates the surgical suites to enhance the patient experience and quality of care.

  • October 2014
    St. Mary’s opens the doors of a brand-new, 110,000-square-foot hospital campus including an integrated clinic and increased capacity for specialty clinics.